Providing Disco & Karaoke Since 19770113 266 8963 0113 266 8963
Posted by: In: Brits, News, Other, Pop, Top 40 24 Feb 2014 Comments: 0

Becoming the 4th different Number 1 single of the Year we have a new chart topper in the form of ‘Money on My Mind’ from Sam Smith.

He is 21 years old and comes from Bishops Stortford England. This is Smiths 3rd taste of chart success, his 2 previous entries have been as featured Artist doing vocals on ‘Latch’ for Disclosure which peaked at Number  11 and also vocals for Naughty Boy on’ La La La’ peaking at Number 1 both last year.

There are 5 new entries in total, the 2nd highest being at Number 4.

Ian Axel and Chad Vaccarino are a singer song writing duo who go by the name of A Great Big World, the track ‘Say Something’ is their 2nd single and 1st hit. After hearing the song Christina Aguilera got in touch with the duo and asked if she could record a version with them, the song has already been to Number 1 in Canada and Australia.

How many twins can you name who have had chart success together as a duo?, well a pair have charted at  Number 17, they are Tegan and Sara Quin from Calgary Canada, the song ‘Everything Is Awesome’ is taken from the soundtrack of the new computer  animated  comedy the ‘Lego  Movie’. Also featured on the song are comedy group the Lonely Island.

One of the musical performances on the Brits this past week was the collaboration between Bastille and Rudimental .it is a mix of the 2 hits ‘Pompeii’ and ‘Waiting all Night’. This is new in at Number 21.

The fifth new entry is at Number 32 for London Boy Band M.A.D   ‘with Fame and TV’ this is their 2nd single after ‘Toyboy’ charted at Number 37 last year.

Due to the Brits effect there are six re-entries , Bastille with ‘Pompeii’ at  Number 20, Beyonce with ‘XO’  at  Number 23 ,John Newman with’ Love me Again’ at  Number 33, Ellie Goulding with ‘Burn’ at  Number 35,  Lorde with ‘Royals’ at Number 36 and finally at  Number 39 the Arctic Monkeys with ‘Do I wanna know’.

As always enjoy the music.

Posted by: In: 60's, 80's, Facebook, Other, Pop 18 Feb 2014 Comments: 0

Lots of changes on the new chart this week as we welcome 9 new hits.

First of all its congratulations again to Clean Bandit who hold the top spot for a 4th week with ‘Rather Be’.

There are 2 new entries in the top 10.

Making its debut at Number 2 is Russian dDJ/producer Zedd  with ‘Stay The Night’, the song features vocals from Hayley Williams she is lead vocalist with the rock group Paramour. Zedd’s real name is Anton Zaslavski

The second highest new entry is at Number 4 for the undisputed king of Electronic Dance Music David Guetta with ‘Shot Me Down’. The song is built around Cher’s 1966 Number 3 hit ‘Bang Bang’ written by Sonny Bono. In 2005 the Audio Bullys did a Dance version of the same song.

 The 3rd new entry is at Number  11 for Le Youth whose real name is Wes James he is an American Dance music producer, the song is called ‘Dance With Me’ and follows up last year’s hit ‘Cool’.’Dance With Me’ samples the TLC hit ‘No Scrubs’.

 There is 1 more new entry in the top 20 and that comes in at Number 15 for Dapper Laughs with ‘Proper Moist’. Dapper Laughs is the stage name of cockney comedian Daniel O’Rielly.

 In at  Number 28 is the romantic ballad from John Legend called ‘All Of Me’, the song has already been Number 1 in Australia, Belgium and the Netherlands. This is the 4th chart hit for Legend and is taken from his 5th studio Album ‘Love In The Future’.

New in at  Number 33 is ‘Roll Of Honour’ by Irish Brigade, the song commemorates the 10 IRA and INLA  hunger strikers who died during the 1981 Irish hunger strike in Northern Ireland.The song is written by Gerry O’Glacain.

 The next new song to enter is at Number 34 for American Indie Rock band American authors with ‘Best Day Of My Life’ this is their 2nd single release and is taken from their debut Album ‘Oh What a Life’.

 The 8th new entry is at Number 36 for Ellie Goulding with ‘Goodness Gracious’, the song becomes the 6th hit single from her ‘Halcyon Days’ deluxe version Album.

 Finally new at Number 40 is 19year old Scottish singer songwriter Nina Nesbitt with ‘Selfies’, this is her 2nd charting song as she also had a hit last year reaching Number 21  with ‘Stay Out’.

 Keep up to date with the current charts by reading more on Facebook at Barry Philips discos.

 As always enjoy the music.

Posted by: In: News, Other, Pop, T V, Top 40 10 Feb 2014 Comments: 0

To stay at Number 1 for 3 weeks is quite a feat in this day and age but that’s what Clean Bandit with ‘Rather Be’ have achieved. In the whole of last year only 2 songs spent longer at the top, ‘Blurred Lines’ and ‘Get Lucky’.

On the chart this week there are 3 new entries and 3 re-entries.

The highest entry is at Number 3 for DJ Fresh ft Jay Fay and Ms Dynamite with ‘Dibby Dibby Sound’. Daniel Stein is the birth name of DJ Fresh he is 36 years old and was born in Sussex. This is his 7th top 40 Single and is taken from his upcoming as yet untitled 4th Album to be released later on this year.

A sure-fire future hit will be ‘Stay the Night’ from Russian musician/producer Zedd. A pre release cover version by DJ Stay the Night is the 2nd highest new entry this week at Number 24.

The other new song is at Number 38 for Lorde with the song ‘Team’. It is the 2nd hit from the’ Pure Heroine’ album. Her Number 1 single from last year, ‘Royals’ is currently at Number 34 and is spending its 16th week on the chart.

The highest re-entry is at Number 21 for Rihanna with ‘What Now’. It was originally released with several remixes last August and became a minor top 40 hit. The reason it has charted again this week is because of its use in ITV programme advertising, having been heard many times over the last week.

Back in at Number 29 is Disclosure with ‘F For You’. The song peaked at Number 20 late last year with vocals from Howard Laurence, it was re-issued on February 5th this time with new vocals from Mary J Bilge.

The other re-entry is at Number 30 for American Indie Rock Band Imagine Dragons with ‘Demons’. It is one of their 5 hit singles from their debut album ‘Night Visions’.

As always, enjoy the music!

On the new Top 40 this week there are 5 new entries and also 4 re-entries.

Clean Bandit get a 2nd week at Number 1 with ‘Rather Be’ and the biggest climber is One Republics ‘If I Lose Myself’, which climbed 21 places to Number 11.

The highest new entry is at Number 2 for Will I Am ft Miley Cyrus, French Montana and Wiz Khalifa with ‘Feeling Myself’. The track will appear on his upcoming deluxe version of the Will Power album.

The 2nd highest new entry is at 4 for Dance Duo, Gorgon City, with ‘Ready for Love’. They are Kye Gibbon and Matt Scot and they come from North London. The song features MNEK whose real name is Uzoechi Emenike. He is also from London.

In at Number 5 this week is Kathleen Brien. better known as Katy B, with ‘Crying for No Reason’. It is the 2nd track released from her upcoming 2nd Album ‘Little Red’. The song was co-written by Guy Chambers who is responsible for many of Robbie williams hits, including Angels.

The 4th new entry is at Number 23 for Chris Malinchak. This is his 2nd hit and follows up last Mays Number 2 hit ‘So Good to Me’. The new offering is ‘If U Got It’ and samples the Motown classic ‘I’m Gonna Make you Love Me’.

The final new entry is at 34 for Sophie Ellis-Bextor with ‘Young Blood’. It is taken from her Album ‘Wanderlust’.

Katy Perry re-enters the Top 40 at 19 with ‘Dark Horse’ ft Juicy J and Imagine Dragons re-enter at 32 with ‘Radioactive’ – this is probably to do with their appearance at the Grammys.

Due to him appearing in Channel 5’s Big Brother, Dappy has charted at Number 40 with ‘No regrets’. This song peaked at Number 1 in September of 2011. Finally, it’s a welcome back to the Weather Girls at 31 with the classic ‘It’s raining men’.

As always enjoy the music.